

FRUSTRATED MAGNETISM

INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP
October 14 - 18, 2019

Frustrated magnetic systems often host unconventional quantum phases originating from quantum fluctuations and competing interactions between spins, like quantum spin liquids — a still elusive long-range entangled phase of matter. The workshop aims at discussing recent advances in the field of frustrated magnetism (classical and quantum), bringing together the leading experts in theory, numerics and experiment, as well as developing new and strengthening the existing collaborations between the theoretical and experimental groups. A particular emphasis will be put on understanding the interplay of frustration, disorder and quantum fluctuations in frustrated magnetic systems.

Topics include:

- Synthesis of novel magnetic materials
- New magnetic orderings and spin liquids
- Spin-orbit coupled magnetism
- Numerical studies of spin systems:

 DMRG, Monte Carlo

 and exact diagonalization
- Spin-glass in magnetic systems

To apply for participation in the Workshop, complete the online application form by July 15, 2019.

Workshop registration fee: 200,000 KRW (for all participants). Accommodation costs and meals will be covered by the PCS IBS. Limited funding is available to partially cover travel expenses.

For further information, please contact: pcs@ibs.re.kr

Visitor Program, PCS IBS, Daejeon, Korea

Invited Speakers

Leon Balents (USA) Gia-Wei Chern (USA) Sasha Chernyshev (USA) Gil Young Cho (Korea) Kedar Damle (India) Akira Furusaki (Japan) Bruce Gaulin (Canada) Michel Gingras (Canada) Jung Hoon Han (Korea) Bumjoon Kim (Korea) Ludovic Jaubert (France) Yuji Matsuda (Japan) Eun-Gook Moon (Korea) Stephen Nagler (USA) Je-Geun Park (Korea) Karlo Penc (Hungary) Natalia Perkins (USA) Lucile Savary (France) Oleg Tchernyshyov (USA) Alexander Tsirlin (Germany) Masafumi Udagawa (Japan) Matthias Vojta (Germany) Mike Zhitmorisky (France)

Scientific Coordinators

Alexei Andreanov (Korea) Yong Baek Kim (Canada & Korea) SungBin Lee (Korea)

Organizers

Gileun Lee (Korea) Jaehee Kwon (Korea)

Coordinator: Dominika Konikowska (Korea)